Spoiler: I didn’t really like this book. Like at all.

The book in question is Infinity in the palm of her hand by Gioconda Belli, who was part of the rebel group that toppled the Nicaraguan dictator Anastasio Somoza in the 1970’s.  I’d like to read something else by her someday, because she sounds like a badass, and I don’t really think one book is enough to judge an author’s entire writing career. Unless that’s all they have published, I suppose. Then that really IS their entire writing career.

Anyway.

The title for this book was so intriguing, I couldn’t pass it up. And would you look at that cover? The flowing hair! The beautiful woman! I HAD to read this book.

511rb5otzcl-_sx328_bo1204203200_nicaragua

The story follows Adam and Eve in an imagined what-it-must-have-been-like-to-be-thrown-out-of-Eden sequence. It focuses entirely on Eve’s view of everything, rather than Adam’s, so that was cool. But it also gets really weird.

The story kind of focuses on Adam and Eve’s relationship, which makes sense as they’re LITERALLY the only people on earth, but it was also kind of weird. Like, Adam was being all macho and authoritative, and I’m all over here like “Where the fuck did he pick that up?” And at certain points it does seem like he is learning these things from God, who talks to Adam and Eve throughout the book, but that just leaves me wondering where Eve was supposed to learn to be a woman if Adam was busy learning to be a man from God. Also, I was always taught that God is actually neither man nor woman, because gender is too human of a trait and God is above human…I digress.

So, OK, Adam and Even get kicked out of the Garden of Eden, and they ‘re trying to figure out how to live, which is interesting and awkward (for instance, they didn’t know they were going to poop). Then Eve has kids, and it gets MORE weird. I won’t spoil the ending for you, in case anyone is interested in reading this for themselves, but I was weirded out by everything with their children. It’s also not Biblical – which is fine, this is fiction – but I also wasn’t quite sure where Belli was going with this.

I think maybe this was just a bad choice for this project, because I wanted books that made me learn at least a little bit about the culture of the country that they’re from. A book about Adam and Even is definitely not going to help me out with that. So maybe that’s just on me for picking the wrong book for this project. Nevertheless, I don’t think I’ll be recommending this title to anyone anytime soon.

Have any of you ever read this book? What did you guys think of it?

