So, one of the things that I’m really interested in is reading a book from every country in the world (inspired by this girl right here). As a librarian, I’m supposed to be well-read. But how can I claim to be well-read if I’ve only read books by US and British authors? Because, fyi,that’s basically any run-of-the-mill high school reading curriculum. And I think at this point in my life we can safely say that with a master’s degree and several years work experience, I’m past the high school reading level.

I really want to read a book from every country in the world. In fact, I am well on my way to accomplishing that goal!

It started with making a list. I divided mine by continent/region, because that was easier for me (btw, my geography skills are skyrocketing!) Here are the lists I have so far, for any of you that want to take a look:

African Reading List

Asian Reading List

Caribbean Reading List

European Reading List

Middle Eastern, Mediterranean Reading List

North America Reading List

Oceania Reading List

South American Reading List

So far, it’s been very interesting! Here’s a list of my CompletedReading, so you know where I am. Some of my favorites so far have been Island of a thousand mirrors from Sri Lanka, The complete Persepolis from Iran, In the time of the Butterflies from the Dominican Republic, and Only God can make a tree from St. Kitts and Nevis in the Caribbean.

Currently I’m reading Mighty be our powers from Liberia, and I’m loving every minute of it. It’s the memoir of Leymah Gbowee, who helped end the cycle of violence that had taken over Liberia around the turn of the century. Inspirational? Hell yes. That’s how I like it!

Next post: I’ll be talking about how I’m actually finding these books. It’s not always easy!

